Bauer 20V Cordless Variable Speed Jigsaw / Product Review And First Use, Awesome!

Bauer 20V Cordless Variable Speed Jigsaw / Product Review And First Use, Awesome!

Let’s do a Product Review and First use of the Bauer 20V Cordless Variable Speed Jigsaw! Wow! Better than I expected featuring easy no tool blade change, Awesome laser guide, 4 position orbital cutting action and an interesting tool less bevel shoe. wwwHarborFreight.com

11 Comments

  1. Mark Bushinski on January 23, 2023 at 3:56 am

    How is the dust blower on the bauer? I have a cordless Bosch jigsaw and it’s hard to see the cutline.

  2. Texas Made Food on January 23, 2023 at 4:06 am

    Stopping by my friend Big Texas Like

  3. flagmichael on January 23, 2023 at 4:10 am

    I am replacing my Ryobi tools with Bauer as replacement time comes along. This saw is my latest piece, and my first one worked great except the blade was not plumb with the case (sole plate and laser). Trying to cut lines by using the laser ended up with it taking a course about 1/8 inch left of the line. Since I was cutting cabinet shelves that would not do. I repurposed the wasted piece and set up a replacement by clamping a straight edge to it with C clamps. The straight edge would guide it to cut in the right place, I thought. Instead the blade forced the straight edge to go awry as though the C clamps meant nothing… another work piece bites the dust. Same problem when I tried the rip fence; it pulled the fence right through the screwdowns.

    I returned the unit and chose a replacement off the shelf. Trouble right away: the orbit control on the blade guide blocked the path of inserting the blade, something that was easy on the original. I fussed with it but could not get the blade chuck to work reliably. I have no idea how it tracks (most negative reviews on the saw cite that problem) but I will try one more before just asking for a refund. I _really_ like the saw; the balance is perfect and the laser is bright and reaches well in front of the saw. If only the blade would follow the line instead of riding along side of it. And I want it to work as well as it could… I love all my other Bauer tools – that is why I am changing brand allegiance.

    One thing that is not a defect: the laser line is bright enough that a wimpy pencil line gets lost in it. Draw the lines in a manly manner! Oorah! I was working in our garage but I would bet the laser is easily visible in direct sunlight.

  4. StormLaker1975 on January 23, 2023 at 4:10 am

    It’s not just $59- you also have to buy the battery and the charger- but HF gives you $20 off if you buy all three. If you don’t use a jigsaw often- and don’t want to spend $200 for a Milwaukee M18 Fuel version….then this one is for you.

  5. Charles Jones on January 23, 2023 at 4:26 am

    Found one in excellent shape at a pawn shop for $20, of course at that price I had to go buy a battery and charger, but that’s cool. I was amazed at how well it cut through 2x4s, I must have made over 20-25 cuts on a 1.5ah battery, and it still had 2/3 bars left on the charge. I remember a time when using a jigsaw on anything was a real pain, but not with the Bauer.

  6. Cheif_LittleBear on January 23, 2023 at 4:27 am

    Thanks for the review

  7. Charles Heitz on January 23, 2023 at 4:33 am

    I had a similar Bosch jig saw with that same blade retention system. It’s a pain but, worked well. I am EXCITED to get my hands on this Bauer jig saw though. Love that laser sight and how easy blade changes are! Does it have any dust collection on it?

  8. Missy on January 23, 2023 at 4:36 am

    I have small hands and find it difficult to hold the safety switch in while using the saw.

  9. MrBeni1970 on January 23, 2023 at 4:44 am

    I bought one of these since i already have some Bauer cordless tools and i didn’t feel like worrying over a cord. It’s awesome in every way. My only beef with it is the guide behind the blade. I noticed the pin backing out and i managed to get it back in place and keep it there, all in all it’s a great tool.

  10. Welding_guy on January 23, 2023 at 4:46 am

    I’ve used both the corded and cordless ryobio at work, they were ok, but at home I have the Bauer line so I want this.. great review

  11. E Kougar on January 23, 2023 at 4:51 am

    Thank you for sharing. I think I’m going to get into the Bauer line for my budget power tools. 50$ Bauer vs 200$ Milwaukee seems like a no brainer. Seems to have all the features I’m looking for.

Leave a Comment