Evolution Fury 5-s Table saw review – one year of ownership ~ #013

Evolution Fury 5-s Table saw review – one year of ownership ~ #013

I have now owned my evolution fury 5-s table saw for just over a year now, I thought it time I gave a independent review based on my actual use of the saw. I have been honest in what I have said and overall i would say i’m disappointed in the saw, which unfortunately i was wanting to be a really good addition.

Thank you for taking the time to view my video. Please have a look around my channel for further videos you may like. Feel free to provide feedback – positive or negative! Like/Dislike, share and consider subscribing
——————————————————————-
Instagram @jamesmancave
Contact – jmc.jamesmancave@gmail.com
——————————————————————-
Tools/Products used:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01DP3V368/ref=as_li_qf_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=jamesmancave-21&creative=6738&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=B01DP3V368&linkId=0d43cc31cf9d0853333ad54b72acfc18

50 Comments

  1. Tony Murray on February 11, 2022 at 10:27 pm

    Good plain sense



  2. Dobbsy London on February 11, 2022 at 10:27 pm

    Top vid. I’ve been after a cheaper table saw to dip my toes for a while and was torn between the evolution or titan. This video has helped loads 👍👍



  3. Michael Rawson on February 11, 2022 at 10:28 pm

    Thanks for the honest review. I’m looking for a first table saw and I wonder if this might be OK if I make a new fence upgrade and a zero clearance insert. What do you reckon?



  4. Phil Quarmby on February 11, 2022 at 10:29 pm

    Great video… inthink all power tools are like this… bosch dewalt etc all owned by same company…. just made slightly different



  5. Arron Murray on February 11, 2022 at 10:30 pm

    Cheers chap good review.



  6. Ash A on February 11, 2022 at 10:32 pm

    Brilliant. Thanks for the review mate.



  7. Chris Harrison on February 11, 2022 at 10:33 pm

    James full marks for the review I bought the same saw 3yrs ago and have never been satisfied with it i had 3 saws delivered all with unacceptable damage I finally accepted the 4th one even though it was still slightly damaged I finally set it up trying very hard to get a decent cut but to no avail I made a new fence which gave a square straight cut but the blade is impossible to set square without a lot of messing and the flimsy table is cheap tin plate I wish now In hind sight I’d have paid proper money for a proper saw totally dissatisfied its true pay cheap pay twice



  8. KANG MONSAI on February 11, 2022 at 10:35 pm

    Over here in Asia, we have Joustman, Jifa, Mistari, Worcraft, etc ….. and they all look very much similar … 🙂 Evolution sounds better though ….



  9. Idso Brouwer on February 11, 2022 at 10:36 pm

    Thanks for the review. Is the version that you now have the portable (folding) one ?



  10. H A on February 11, 2022 at 10:37 pm

    Thank you for your video. It was brilliant review. I didn’t know EVOLUTION would do a such generic products and claiming as their own products. All this time I thought they were a particular brand. I was wrong. I should have seen your review first before buying this table saw EVOLUTION RAGE 5-S. The problem you’ve shown are correct. Even my one (the guide) doesn’t move freely like your one. It should have been one end to the other, so that it would give cutting measurement same all the way.



  11. SloggieBear on February 11, 2022 at 10:40 pm

    Very useful thank you



  12. Jt the 3rd on February 11, 2022 at 10:41 pm

    It also looks exactly the same as aldi’s workzone one which I paid 90£ for, and I even saw a scheppach sticker on it somewhere.



  13. Dixy Pro on February 11, 2022 at 10:42 pm

    Good job. I was able to make one automatic that works on 12 volts



  14. Victor Victor on February 11, 2022 at 10:43 pm

    You sound like a farmer! 🤣🤣🤣



  15. Phillip Neale on February 11, 2022 at 10:45 pm

    Very useful did you upgrade and if so what did you go for ?



  16. mjribes on February 11, 2022 at 10:47 pm

    Thanks for the review. You helped me decide against buying this saw



  17. Tony Carter on February 11, 2022 at 10:50 pm

    I chose the Evolution table saw for exactly the same reason as you, and totally agree it’s not on par with the evolution chop saw. I feel ripped off having paid over the top for what I thought would be a good quality product. We learn, and choose our next purchases based on experience, and it won’t be an Evolution product, mass produced in China most likely.



  18. iqbal Zafar on February 11, 2022 at 10:53 pm

    This table saw Price PKR plz



  19. TheEssexSpurs on February 11, 2022 at 10:54 pm

    I want to buy a cheap table saw primarily for cutting 3m wood into strips fpr making trellises..Would you say the Titan is cheap and cheerful and COULD repeatedly just rip wood?.



  20. Ramin Nazari-Nouri on February 11, 2022 at 10:55 pm

    Hi, Thank you for sharing this with me.



  21. CHILL DOG on February 11, 2022 at 10:55 pm

    just had mine delivered today am quite happy up to the point that the main table top at the back is slightly bent by 5-8 mm at rear left side not sure if it the manufacture fault or it got damage in transit and 3 of the table extension bolts snap in half after tightening them up.i will have to phone them up in the morning about it. apart from my small issues it looks great all the blade alignment’s is spot on out the box and i only paid less than £145 for it new ,like you i also own a an Evolution mitre saw and i can’t fault it one of the best mitre saws i have own



  22. Woodwork, Walks and things that interest me on February 11, 2022 at 10:56 pm

    I bought the Titan from Screwfix and the fence is useless. It was quite an easy job to make my own out of wood which has improved the saw. I also have used the UJK clamps from Axminster tools as a fence.



  23. The Fat Numpty on February 11, 2022 at 10:56 pm

    Top review here mate, funny what you say about the rip fence wobbling, I noticed this too and asked evolution if there was a fence available that locked both ends which there isn’t. They noted my feedback though, we may see a fix on the next model. Definitely an issue on this one though.



  24. Poppe Stäbler on February 11, 2022 at 10:57 pm

    Thanks for this review James, you saved me a lot of money and time!



  25. Hedrik on February 11, 2022 at 10:57 pm

    Hi, I live in Australia, and just bought an Ozito table-saw which is exactly the same model as yours except it has red instead green. We also have the same problems when buying the model, but what we do, is modify it to suit ourselves, which isn’t hard at all. Just replace the ‘flimsy bits’ with timber ones. You can make those bits yourself. I’ve removed the fences, because they’re useless, and replace them with timber ones again. You can make your own slider and use a wingnut which you can buy from the local hardware, to lock fences in place.
    Check this guy’s very basic but workable machine.
    https://youtu.be/ELLx5u8p5Qo



  26. Jer Goes on February 11, 2022 at 10:58 pm

    The titan saw isn’t quite the same, I unfortunately own one. I’m sure they are very similar however the table top on the evolution is flat, on the titan it’s,, erm,, featured… not in a good way makes cutting accurately harder.
    The Titan doesn’t have rack and pinion angle adjustment either, it’s sloppy and wildly inaccurate.
    To be honest no matter how bad you think that evolution saw is, the Titan is far far worse 🙂
    .. Oh and the mitre accessory, why are table saw manufacturers incapable of making a decent mitre slide, my Titan bandsaw has a rock solid mitre slide, I just don’t get what their problem is.



  27. Gary McKinnon on February 11, 2022 at 10:59 pm

    Cheers for the review James. I’ve got an Evo compound mitre that is great, so i was thinking of getting this for my first table saw, but not any more.



  28. Vlogg Frogs on February 11, 2022 at 10:59 pm

    A good honest review , the fence is basically useless , the measure tape is inaccurate, and the crosscut sled poorly fits and wobbles, motor is great blade is ok , otherwise this machine really is not fit for purpose, I have had this saw for 3 years, I removed the fence , legs and striped it down and mounted the body in a custom built work bench and built my own fence and cross cut sled after only using it for 3 months to make it usable , but out of the box it is useless and i would recommend using the money and getting a track saw instead



  29. davedtj on February 11, 2022 at 11:04 pm

    cheap crap .



  30. LeArtisan on February 11, 2022 at 11:05 pm

    Appreciated.



  31. Chris Keeble on February 11, 2022 at 11:05 pm

    Thanks for this review, really appreciate the honest, unbiased review.



  32. George Cooper on February 11, 2022 at 11:06 pm

    Don’t know if you still have this table saw but if you do you should check out this aftermarket fence see link https://www.charnwood.net/products/product/rip-fence-upgrade-for-w619-w619psf/category_pathway-224

    I picked up the Evolution Fury 5-s Table saw a couple of years ago and the fence like you said is crap However this aftermarket one fits perfectly and works like a dream ( Rock steady) and "very" well made.

    NO I don’t work for them and it’s not an affiliate link and you can find it on Amazon too, just came across your video and thought I would offer this up. Cheers and nice review



  33. adrian welch on February 11, 2022 at 11:08 pm

    glad i watched this vid before i bought one. good video thanks



  34. Shane Mackey on February 11, 2022 at 11:09 pm

    Im having the same problem aswel. I can’t afford anything to really get a fancy one so i guessing ill have to modify mine and make some jigs to go along. best of luck James and thanks for the video.



  35. lee draven on February 11, 2022 at 11:10 pm

    Also my big peev is the dip in the insert plate



  36. Prashant Kini on February 11, 2022 at 11:10 pm

    Thanks for the honest review James.
    Have checked out your other videos and Subscribed to your Channel.
    Ahem, they named it Fury for a reason !

    After watching several table saw reviews I am tempted to buy a Titan Band saw instead. Serves my needs better.

    I was admiring the cladding on your shed as well as the background towards the end. Is that the interior? What cladding did you use mate, and where did you buy it? Hope you reply soon 😊



  37. Liam Mulkeen on February 11, 2022 at 11:14 pm

    Thanks



  38. Phill Coupe on February 11, 2022 at 11:15 pm

    well yeh, of course, they are the same they all probably come from the same Chinese manufacturer and as you said they then put their own motor and colour



  39. Jamie Broughan on February 11, 2022 at 11:15 pm

    That table saw in the video is a diy model, the evolution rage 5s is the professional version of this!
    The orange evolution tools are trade rated, green ones are diy rated,
    Maybe this is why it falls behind spec compared to your sliding mitre saw 👍



  40. Richard Illingworth on February 11, 2022 at 11:17 pm

    Great review and thanks for your honesty. I was considering this table or the bigger brother, the Rage 5-S. Do you regret not getting the Rage 5-S or even a different model and spending a few extra £?



  41. Aaron Johnston on February 11, 2022 at 11:18 pm

    Got the orange version of this saw and have the same issues, the fence is bad and if I could get that sorted I wouldn’t mind but until then seems useless



  42. Chrissy Beanz on February 11, 2022 at 11:18 pm

    Cheers



  43. Cheryl Dowd on February 11, 2022 at 11:18 pm

    Thanks was about to buy one glad i saw this



  44. Owen Kelly on February 11, 2022 at 11:19 pm

    There’s a real opportunity for someone to make a fence kit that locks at both ends. I’m using a straight/true piece of 45x70mm spruce that I lock with speedclamps but even that isn’t ideal. Great review for any potential buyers.



  45. Sladjan Krsteski on February 11, 2022 at 11:21 pm

    Thanks a lot for honest rewiew.



  46. Mohammed Rahman on February 11, 2022 at 11:21 pm

    Cheers mate for the review. U saved me time and money. I have the evolution circular saw and evolution compound miter saw so i was drawn to the table saw too but now i will go for the titan table saw. Thanks mate



  47. Mickey Pigduck on February 11, 2022 at 11:22 pm

    I know this is an old video but who in their right mind would think this piece of junk that is being passed off as a table saw is worth spending money on?



  48. allan wilson on February 11, 2022 at 11:22 pm

    Been in the market for a new table saw. Like you, have been impressed with the mitre saws evolution makes. For the price point of this table saw, was fully expecting the fence wobble even before you got to that point in the video. I think that cross cut fence is too ‘plasicky’ as well. If only they could spend another $50 on production costs in improving these aspects, you could have a decent little diy table saw for those handful of projects through the year. As the adage goes, you get what you pay for. Thanks for posting mate…



  49. Jan Willem Helderman on February 11, 2022 at 11:22 pm

    Having exactly the same issues with exactly the same table, except it’s being sold under the brandname PowerPlus (the Netherlands). Can’t say if the motor is the same (which is doing well basically), but the table is absolutely the same, with all it’s flaws. I replaced the insert and made a better fitting slider for the crosscut bar. Still looking for a replacement for the side bar though.
    A thing you did not mention was the flatness of the table. Both side tables were a little to high on the outside ends and could not be lowered. I adjusted the construction to make it perfectly flat.
    So after a lot of work the table is doing fine, but I wish I had noticed your review first :-).



  50. Chris Harrison on February 11, 2022 at 11:24 pm

    To be honest James I’ve looked at the new saw several times but no one has done an in depth review as far as I can see I’m watching your review atm and I may give them another go