Evolution R185CCSL Circular Saw – Saw provided by Evolution for review.

Evolution R185CCSL Circular Saw – Saw provided by Evolution for review.

Replacing the Rage 1-B. Evolution’s new R185CCSL has numerous improvements. Lighter, easier to handle, easier to operate, dust extraction, longer cable, blade braking, it’s a much better saw.

Evolution have given me an affliliate’s code and if you use this code on the UK website you will receive 5% off any purchase – Use code: RPLATTEN

My affiliate link is: http://aspireiq.go2cloud.org/aff_c?offer_id=6845&aff_id=16486
You do not need to use this link to access the website for the discount, you can still use the discount code if you enter the site via the normal web address or search engine. The link just allows Evolution to see who is accessing the site via my content.

I receive a small commission for any sales received with this discount code. πŸ™‚

https://www.screwfix.com/p/evolution-r185ccsl240-1200w-185mm-circular-saw-220-240v/285fj

Work table Screwfix: https://www.screwfix.com/c/tools/workbenches/cat9800007?cm_sp=managedredirect-_-handtools-_-workbenches

Work table Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/32GCSeK

As an Amazon associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

50 Comments

  1. Alex Ellis on June 19, 2023 at 1:24 pm

    Thanks for the video. Have you tired the track that you can get for it?

    Your vac sounded quiet.. what model is it?



  2. George Warren on June 19, 2023 at 1:26 pm

    thanks mate, bought this saw today and was confused about installing the blade. now I know how. Thanks



  3. Kauguri D on June 19, 2023 at 1:27 pm

    I think to buy this blade to my cheap circular sow



  4. michael farrington on June 19, 2023 at 1:27 pm

    Thanks for the vlog , very helpful guide, first time cutting doors so will update review soon. Regards Mike



  5. lactobasilio on June 19, 2023 at 1:28 pm

    Great video. Happy to learn new from you sir! I am thinking of buying this same equioment for casual DIY. Watching this convinced me into getting one



  6. Pardeep Matharoo on June 19, 2023 at 1:30 pm

    Hi. It’s a very good video to learn how to use saw in a good way. And I want to ask you that I bought this saw as well but the cord don’t have a plug and instead it’s a 110v yellow industrial socket. So how can I change it to electric socket? Thanks



  7. D O P E on June 19, 2023 at 1:31 pm

    Can we use other saw blade i.e. makita/bosch etc?



  8. Shoana Philp on June 19, 2023 at 1:32 pm

    Thank you this was a really helpful, clear and concise video that has made me feel much more confident as a first time circular saw user.



  9. Peter Kell on June 19, 2023 at 1:34 pm

    Very good review thank you. Just bought one. I use Dewalt but may as well give it a go. Lots of cutting in 2 weeks. Utility room revamp.



  10. Richard Mclellan on June 19, 2023 at 1:35 pm

    Hi. Would this cut sleepers? I understand I’d need to flip the sleep over to finish the cut, but was wonder if it would even cut it.



  11. E D Daly on June 19, 2023 at 1:38 pm

    Perfect. Straight into it. No fucking about.
    Cheers mate.



  12. Shah Mustafa on June 19, 2023 at 1:38 pm

    Excellent Review.😊



  13. Sarah-Kate’s Art on June 19, 2023 at 1:39 pm

    Thanks πŸ™



  14. Michael Roche on June 19, 2023 at 1:40 pm

    Great review, thank you



  15. Red Laazizi on June 19, 2023 at 1:40 pm

    Thanks



  16. Jakub Kuna on June 19, 2023 at 1:41 pm

    Hello, blades from evolution are rubbish, I have try an orange one and it least for 3 cuts for 2mm thick 3×3 cm profile. I thought that it was problem with blade so I decided to send it to UK for examination. They told me that it is my fault and it is normal, I should use it for aluminum, plastic and wood not for steel. Waste of money, better buy few cheap black blades. Evolution has send me a blade back to use it for plastic. better do not believe in sponsored YT movies and stay away from this product. A saw itself is nice πŸ™‚ and works great with other blades.



  17. Gregor Kropotkin on June 19, 2023 at 1:41 pm

    Great vid-all I needed to know and no waffle-I can tell this guy is a Yorkshireman!
    New subscriber!



  18. Barun on June 19, 2023 at 1:41 pm

    Hi mate just wanting to check up on how the saw is working after 2years ?



  19. ζ³’ζ³’η›‘ on June 19, 2023 at 1:41 pm

    Thx your demonstration, I am looking for a circular saw , I find this model in Screwfix Β£49.9. Your demonstration is very good for me , thx your precious information. Already comment like subscribe πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™γŠ—οΈγŠ—οΈγŠ—οΈγŠ—οΈ



  20. repairdrive on June 19, 2023 at 1:41 pm

    Never heard of this brand before seeing it in person in a local store. I was surprised by the high quality of it!



  21. B H on June 19, 2023 at 1:44 pm

    Excellent guide, thanks!



  22. X Purge Editz on June 19, 2023 at 1:44 pm

    Brilliant channel



  23. Binary Bug on June 19, 2023 at 1:46 pm

    Thank you for a really detailed video, just what I was needing to see, rather than buying something cheaper off ebay, ive decided to get one of these, im sure it will pay off in the long run.



  24. andyscott0 on June 19, 2023 at 1:48 pm

    Great review. Cant decide between this and a mitre , think il just buy both !



  25. Craig on June 19, 2023 at 1:49 pm

    Brilliant cheers. I might start buying evolution products. They seem good for the prices



  26. Petes Vidz on June 19, 2023 at 1:49 pm

    Hi Russell I have the same saw but bought the evolution guide after I bought the circular and found that its not compatible with the 185 CCL can I still use the guide rail.



  27. Ben on June 19, 2023 at 1:50 pm

    Great video. Never owned a circular saw and am not great at wood work in general so found your jig demonstration really helpful as I plan on cutting some kitchen countertops soon



  28. Kojo Mensah on June 19, 2023 at 1:53 pm

    I need one to cut aluminum roofing sheets what is yr opinion or can you get a blade that is just for cutting metal??



  29. ID 189 on June 19, 2023 at 1:53 pm

    Really helpful thanks πŸ‘πŸ‘



  30. Blackadar56 on June 19, 2023 at 1:54 pm

    Thanks for the review. I was wondering if these saws were any good for cutting steel square tubing and from your video I was impressed!



  31. Case Hanrath on June 19, 2023 at 1:55 pm

    Kudos on an excellent presentation.(As others have commented it is well edited, without fluff and I too love the accent lol.) Thank you especially for the cut jig idea – simple and brilliant! I have a cordless Dewalt saw that I love but I may buy that evolution blade- sounds really useful.



  32. Phill Wyatt Projects on June 19, 2023 at 1:56 pm

    Brilliant review πŸ‘



  33. Octimus Prime on June 19, 2023 at 1:57 pm

    Is there a laser guide on it?



  34. Chris Nelson on June 19, 2023 at 1:59 pm

    Cheers, nice and straight to the point, just ordered, you sold it!!!



  35. Diego Villalba on June 19, 2023 at 1:59 pm

    Thank you so much for the video and review. I have made myself a jig from this and works very well great job!!



  36. James The skate border on June 19, 2023 at 2:02 pm

    great clear video! whats the square called?



  37. Adam Lunn on June 19, 2023 at 2:02 pm

    Russel, quick question. I’ve ordered this from Screwfix for collection tomorrow. It’ll literally be my first power tool after a combi drill. I built a mud kitchen for my daughter out of old pallet wood and I think I’ve got the bug because I’ve ordered some materials to build a lean-to shelter off the back of my garage for the mid kitchen and a Wendy house. Anyway, ordered the circular saw after watching tons of videos on what I might need to get started but now I’m second guessing whether I should have spent the extra Β£25/Β£30 on one of the actual track saws instead. I can still cancel this one but I like what you did in the video by creating the track guide. What do you think? Should I stick with this or invest a little more for a track saw? Thanks.



  38. Kelel Kai on June 19, 2023 at 2:03 pm

    Just got one of these, looked at the instructions,then thought I’d come and find you. Thanks for the review and quick no nonsense set up guild. Top man!



  39. Jeff Halbo on June 19, 2023 at 2:04 pm

    Excellent video, Russell. Very instructive and concise. Many thanks.



  40. Andy Gill on June 19, 2023 at 2:04 pm

    Great video. ThanksπŸ‘



  41. Edward Grabczewski on June 19, 2023 at 2:04 pm

    Thanks Russell. I bought this today after watching several YouTube videos and you’ve highlighted all the important points, including the evolution (!) of the saw itself. The issue I had was when I attached the saw blade I failed to make sure the outer drive flange flats were engaged – resulting in a rather wobbly saw blade! I examined many saws on display in B&Q and the design and quality of the evolution seemed better than most. ScrewFix, B&Q and Parkside to a great job in providing us with amazingly good quality tools for unbelievably low prices. In general, looking at the range of tools in B&Q, I was amazed at how cheap some good quality tools are nowadays.



  42. Paul_Mark on June 19, 2023 at 2:05 pm

    excellent video and fantastic tip on making the jig. im thinking of gettiing this saw to cut some hardwood doors. thankyou, you now have anew subscriber



  43. Ash Karim on June 19, 2023 at 2:06 pm

    Thank you so much the video. Really appreciate it. This video helped me so much to set up the circular saw with confidence. 😁😁😁



  44. N X on June 19, 2023 at 2:11 pm

    Brilliant



  45. RubyGold Restyled Furniture on June 19, 2023 at 2:12 pm

    Thank you



  46. Andrew Smith on June 19, 2023 at 2:13 pm

    Love the vid mate



  47. Dean Oh on June 19, 2023 at 2:15 pm

    I’ve got the 165mm model. Absolutely love it. Β£50 from Screwfix. Has that bulletproof blade you show in the video. One major thing for me (if you don’t want to use the jig) you can actually see the cut line from the left side "over the motor". That’s the best bit and has straightened up my cuts no end. No other sidewinder/motor on left model offers that that I’ve seen.



  48. townheadbluesboy on June 19, 2023 at 2:17 pm

    Hi have you got any tips for cutting mdf board at an angle. I don’t mean setting the blade to 45 using the lever on the saw but instead of cutting the strip off the board edge square – cut it so the angle of the 2 edges of the board is not 90 degrees. I need to cut a rhomboid (had to google it!) from a square board. I can draw the shape on the board ok with a sliding bezel. I guess I can make a alignment jig with a straight edge offcut to use as a guide. I have 4 of these to cut and they’re all slightly different. Thanks for this video



  49. Dave C on June 19, 2023 at 2:18 pm

    Really helpful video, think you have helped my purchase to get one of these. Just Β£49.99 at Screwfix !



  50. Rayleigh Gutter Cleaning on June 19, 2023 at 2:19 pm

    Really good video, no rubbish, just clear easy advice. Bought one yesterday!