Grizzly Table Saw G1023RLWX My thoughts after 5yrs an honest review 🤔 and should you get a SawStop?

Grizzly Table Saw G1023RLWX My thoughts after 5yrs an honest review 🤔 and should you get a SawStop?

I have owned the Grizzly G1023RLWX – 10″ 5 HP 240V Cabinet Table Saw with Built-in Router Table for 5 years. I want to share with you 3 things I love and 3 things I don’t like about the table saw. At the end of the video I will give you my thoughts and opinion on if you should purchase a Grizzly table saw or a Sawstop.

Chapters:
0:00 Intro what I will be talking about and sharing with you
0:37 3 Things I love about this Grizzly table saw
2:57 3 Things I don’t like about the Grizzly table saw
6:47 How I make my Grizzly table saw safe
8:44 Should you buy a Grizzly table saw or a SawStop?

@Grizzly Industrial, Inc.
@MICROJIG

🧰 TOOLS

• My Grizzly Table Saw | https://amzn.to/3yUqLeO
• SawStop | https://amzn.to/3uM8SLT
• Mirco Jig GRR-RIPPER 3D Pushblock for Table Saws | https://amzn.to/3vNsReE

👣 FOLLOW

Subscribe — http://bit.ly/2FRGV11
Instagram — http://bit.ly/2FRK0y7
Facebook — http://bit.ly/2FVJLSU
Twitter — http://bit.ly/2FV5H0i
Pinterest — http://bit.ly/2FWv6a1

#woodworking #toolreview #sidehustle

—————— SOFTWARE ——————-

• Adobe Creative Cloud | https://amzn.to/2xpxKxM (Optional)
• SketchUp | www.sketchup.com (Optional)

📹 FILMING EQUIPMENT

• Main Camera | https://amzn.to/2QDh8y9
• Main Lens | https://amzn.to/2KOf3Kg
• Secondary Lens | https://amzn.to/2QdsgSY
• Audio Camera Mic | https://amzn.to/2SkY5pg
• Voice Over Mic | https://amzn.to/2rjjtjs
• Lights | https://amzn.to/2Eacl1e
• Laptop | https://amzn.to/2Q57cxL
• Editing Software | https://amzn.to/2QygbH9

DISCLAIMERS | Some of these links have an affiliate code, if you purchase tools or gear with these links I will receive a small commission at no additional cost to you. This helps cover my build materials. Thank you!

20 Comments

  1. Kurt Sanger on February 27, 2022 at 11:27 pm

    Love my Grizzly

    I am using the open wrench to hold the spindle and the closed wrench to tighten the nut for the last five years without any issues. Much better than holding the blade on a Contractor Table Saw while tightening or loosening the Spindle Nut.

    220V Power is awesome.

    I also like the weight. Mine is an upgrade from a 1980 Craftsman Contractors Saw. This Grizzly doesn’t move when we push wood through.

    And the weight makes the router extension awesome too. Mine is replacing a home made router table mounted to a leg set that we had to continually tighten up and it would still move when you push work through the bit. We use the router all the time and leave it in the table saw. This week we’re upgrading it to the Triton Router so we can change bits from above the table and deal with the bit’s shaft length going through the cast iron extension. The cast iron router table extension was the least expensive way to get a great stable router.

    Its much easier and safer to work with a stationary machine that doesn’t budge. Your results will get better too.

    The riving knife is a royal pain. We had to take it completely apart to figure out how best to adjust it. Plus it requires 1/8" thick blades so all of our old thin blades would not work. Once you set it up correctly though it works great. I have not had to adjust it again. While its a pain it works and we’ve only had to remove it when using a dado blade.

    My only complaint is the safety shield. The anti kickback pawls are attached to the blade cover and rides up and down with the blade. Its okay raising the blade but when you lower the blade the anti kickback pawls stick into the table and prohibit the blade from being lowered. We’ve removed the palls, then finally went to the riving knife and have never put the safety shield back in. The anti kickback pawls also left marks on most woods. On the contractor saw we only removed the safety shield when ripping a thin piece that would get stuck under the cover. (We used the contractor saw for over 30 years).

    We use Feather Pro featherboards on the table and the fence to help prevent kickback. Also use a MagSwitch featherboard when the work is too wide and covers up the miter slot that the Feather Pro attaches to. We built a jig using MagJigs to attach to the top of the fence to which we attach the Feather Pro Featherboard using a T-Slot on the jig. We can flip the jig to the other side and we use the fence and the jig with the router too.

    We try real hard to not change the angle of the blade from 90 degrees. And we always use the same fine tooth blade with our close clearance inserts and our cross miter sled. Another saw for angle cuts would be awesome if only we had the money and the room.

    For dust collection we’ve taped over the slot in the front for tilting the blade to reduce the amount of air coming into the case. We use a Central Machinery dust collector placed in another room and it does a great job. Eventually you do need to vacuum out the tablesaw and empty the dust collector bag.

    We’ve used a Saw Stop for our Robotics team. (Our master machinist still insist that our students may not use the tablesaw). Its a great saw too. It still requires featherboards, hold downs, push sticks, and a great deal of attention. The Saw Stop doesn’t have as many blade options and its unclear if you can use your favorite blade. The work can’t be wet or the brake will activate. You must deactivate the brake to test for wet wood or when cutting metal. I do not remember having an issue lowering the safety blade guard on the Saw Stop. (I’ll have to check when we get back into the robotics shop).

    Be Safe: Use your featherboards. Do not set the featherboards to push stock against the blade. Use your blade guard or your riving knife. I use the top featherboard to remind me where the blade is. Always use your push sticks. Do not wear jewelry, loose clothing or long sleeves. Tie your hair back. Don’t work while tired. Take breaks often. Take your time and never rush. And do not forget to wear a dust mask and hearing protection.

    Enjoy your Grizzly Table Saw.



  2. Fredy Quiroz on February 27, 2022 at 11:30 pm

    Get a Harvey 4 horsepower saw.

    I know I will pretty soon.



  3. Dana Larson on February 27, 2022 at 11:42 pm

    riveting knife? zero tolerance throat plate? ok…



  4. Milo H on February 27, 2022 at 11:50 pm

    I have mainly Grizzly tools. I got the 10" sliding table saw, and it is so easy to use. Changing blades is a breeze as it opens up wide. It only takes a few minutes to go from a glue line rip cut to a crosscut to a dado stack etc. that I don’t even think twice about doing it. With the regular tables saw that I replaced, it was a pain to change the blades.



  5. Oliver Dunn on February 27, 2022 at 11:52 pm

    I’ve been a woodworker for over 35 years now, and bought this saw about 4 years ago, when my Jet table saw bit the weinie. That’s when I found out that after a couple of years, Jet no longer stocks parts for repair. I got this unit for $1500 on special, and have enjoyed the unit tremendously. The only gripe I have is that the dust collection SUCKS!!!! The idea between the bifurcated dust port is great in theory (remember: theoretically bumblebees can’t fly), but is woefully inadequate in practice. I have a dedicated 1.5 hp dust collector and I still have to clean the small hose every couple of days. I’m just about to the point of removing the shroud from around the blade, totally sealing underneath the table top, and the front opening for the blade controls. The small hose for the shroud causes more problems than it solves. Anybody got any ideas?

    Another very slight niggle is that the 5hp motor is so powerful, you don’t realize that the blade is dull until you see burn marks on the wood.



  6. Aaron Hungate on February 28, 2022 at 12:00 am

    While I agree with your logic I have to disagree. If you can afford a sawstop buy it even if you use it once a year. Safety is paramount no matter what but the safest person in the world can have am accident.
    The cost of surgery for the amputation of a ring finger can range from $20,000 to $60,000 for a person who may not have insurance. This cost covers the surgeon’s fees, facility fees, hospital stay, anesthetics, and medical supplies. The average cost WITH insurance is between 5-11 thousand dollars. Not to mention your life will be changed forever.
    Noone ever said "man I wish I didn’t buy a sawstop" but anyone that lost a finger also never said "I’m glad I don’t have that digit anymore" .



  7. Ty Golden on February 28, 2022 at 12:03 am

    I will only buy Grizzly. They are great people to work with and they build great products. Thanks for the video.



  8. LordPadriac on February 28, 2022 at 12:04 am

    Okay I really tried to not comment and I’ve gone away from the video and come back a couple of times but I just can’t let it go.

    1) It’s pronounced DAY-DOUGH

    2) Dust collection on ALL table saws suck. The little 2" hose to the blade shroud has been problematic since they were introduced by saw makers. You just get too many small slivers or little pieces that come off and clog that small hose. Doesn’t matter the company. I have a neighbor that likes to think he sets the standard the neighbors keep up with and he got one of the REALLY expensive SawStops to cut wood once every other weekend – maybe. The dust collection from the blade shroud is just as bad. That’s whether it’s under the table or over the table. That small hose just clogs. It’s partially because of the smaller diameter but the low pressure dust collection systems use doesn’t help as it give the heavier chips time to float to the bottom of the flex hose ridges and start a clog. If you hooked a shop vac up to that same small hose you’d never have a clog but it also would catch nearly as much dust. Removing the blade shroud, hose and sealing the front hole up with one of those magnets made for the purpose and just using the 4" hose out the back gets much better dust collection below the table. Above the table using something like the universal over arm blade shroud Grizzly offers (other brands have it too) with a proper 4" hose the whole way is much better.

    3) I’m not sure anyone whose table top looks like that after only five years has any business telling anybody about what table saw is good or not as you clearly don’t know the most basic thins about taking care of the tool. It makes me fairly certain that the issue you had with the stamped steel wrenches, which have been standard shipped with table saws since at least the 60s, is a you problem and not an issue with the tools themselves.



  9. Ivan’s Country Music and Cars on February 28, 2022 at 12:05 am

    I was wrong made in Taiwan. Not made in China! It’s made in China. That is the number 1 problem in my opinion.



  10. DrMetalpin on February 28, 2022 at 12:09 am

    Grizzly table saws cost way more than $1600 now as I’m looking to buy one. The one in your link is over $2500.



  11. Ivan’s Country Music and Cars on February 28, 2022 at 12:10 am

    Grizzly is a nice saw. Sawstop is a lifetime saw.



  12. MJHanegraaf on February 28, 2022 at 12:12 am

    Really appreciate the 5-year-looking-back perspective. I’ve been waiting for this saw to go on sale (and as others have said, it’s a lot more expensive now). Also appreciate the other folks’ comments.



  13. Raymond Flagstaff on February 28, 2022 at 12:16 am

    "don’t buy it because I have a router table?" seriously bro?



  14. Thomas Green on February 28, 2022 at 12:17 am

    I have used Grizzly tools in the past when I worked for large shop. They are pretty good. Not sure I would worry much about cheap tools. But dust collection is important. But again getting in the cleaning it out every couple of weeks is not that big of a deal. If the saw works well that is really important.



  15. Jimmy Tidwell on February 28, 2022 at 12:18 am

    I just purchased a grizzly G1023RLW it hasn’t got here yet. I’ve been looking at reviews and I worked in a millwork shop for ten yrs. and I’ve used saws all my life and I’ve never seen one that no matter how good the bust collection is that you still have to clean bust out of it. I’ve used sawstop, powermatic and others and all kinds of dust collectors a d they all still have bust in the bottom



  16. Jeffrey Weber on February 28, 2022 at 12:19 am

    Buddy, this saw is now $2250 plus $199 freight.



  17. Fox Hall Woodworks on February 28, 2022 at 12:20 am

    I just bought the newest version of this saw. Does your model have the dust shroud around the bottom of the blade?



  18. dwl sml on February 28, 2022 at 12:20 am

    Dude, you talk too much. Just get to the point. Over 12 minutes long. Sawstops are not thst great. Amy incident, like cutting through a nail, can kick in the features of the sawstop and you’ll pay hundreds to fix. Thumbs down.



  19. In The Woodworks Co. on February 28, 2022 at 12:22 am

    Thanks for posting this video. I recently bought a new Harvey 3hp table saw that I think is basically the same saw as this one. Do you notice a kind of bumping noise when you turn off the saw and then blade is almost at a stop? Almost like it’s a brake system trying to stop the blade? Thanks.



  20. Brian Epperson on February 28, 2022 at 12:23 am

    Are you paid by SawStop…? Person I buy many safety tools and if I had a SawStop I will still buy safety tools…. Too funny man buys a saw for $1400 and complains it’s not as fancy as a $4000 saw.. Hmmm