Milwaukee M18 FUEL D Handle Jigsaw 2737 20 Review

Milwaukee M18 FUEL D Handle Jigsaw 2737 20 Review

FULL REVIEW HERE:

Milwaukee M18 FUEL D-Handle Jig Saw Review

The M18 FUEL D-Handle Jig Saw is a Gen 2 upgrade from an earlier version. This new saw is brushless, has increased SPM, dust collection and an LED light.
Brushless Motor
Equipped with a brushless motor, it operates at a higher blade speed than corded jig saws. At 3500 strokes per minute [SPM] this saw is capable of cutting up to 105 linear feet of ¾” laminated particle board, that’s the equivalent to about 18 sink cut outs.
We tested this saws noise level, and measured its no-load speed at 101 Decibels.
Variable Speed
There is no variable speed dial adjustment on this saw, it does have a variable speed trigger that controls the saw from 0 to 3,500 strokes per minute. [SPM] This is a blade stroke increase from the older saw that offered 2,700 SPM.
We like that the trigger on this saw is larger and can accommodate two fingers which can reduce stress and fatigue on the user.
Not having a variable speed dial is an issue with us. Not having a variable speed requires you to operate the tool with divided attention tasks. That means you have to squeeze the variable speed trigger to the speed you desire, all while trying to make a great cut.
For precise tasks I prefer a saw that has a VS setting that lets you “set and forget,” the speed so I can pull the trigger fully, and focus on making that precise cut.
We also found that the VS trigger was not sensitive enough to get a super slow start cut, and started at a faster ramp up speed than we’d prefer.
Accuracy and Blade Deflection

I often find that a jigsaw’s quality can be summed up pretty fast if you try to cut a 45-degree bevel on a piece of 3/4″ plywood. If you can cut that bevel in a nice straight line without fighting the jigsaw than you’ve got a winning combination. This jigsaw had no problem cutting nice straight 45-degree bevel cuts over long lengths.

We tested the jigsaw in Mahogany, Pine and plywood. The saw cuts well in all of those materials, and tracks well. We made straight, 45 degree and scroll cuts and checked for square and parallels. We also did see some moderate, and aggressive scroll cutting in plywood and on this test we did see some moderate deflection on the aggressive scrolls.

When the saw is in the highest orbital setting it plows through material easily – there is no wish for more power on this saw.

Vibration

 All jigsaws employ some sort of counterbalance system to reduce the up-and-down shaking created by the reciprocating plunger and blade.

The Milwaukee saw does have noticeable vibration, and more than the new Dewalt XR jigsaw that we just tested.

Blade Change and Blade Stroke
The front of this tool has a plastic, key-less, slide actuated, blade change that ejects the blade. This jigsaw uses all standard T-shank blades.
The saw features a 1-inch stroke length, 4-position orbital action switch to allow the jigsaw versatility when cutting different materials.
Bevel Adjustment
The keyless shoe bevel has positive detents at 0°, 15°, 30° and 45° but will also hold its position in between those settings well.
1 LED Light
The M18 FUEL D-Handle Jig Saw has one integrated LED that illuminates the work area well and stays on for 11 seconds after the trigger is released.
Cut Line Blower

An On/Off cut line blower keeps the cut line clear of debris, and allows user to turn off blower when using dust extraction.
 
Dust Collection 

The Milwaukee saw includes a dust cover and dust extraction tube. The saw does a reasonable good job at collecting dust in the non-orbital mode.

Weight

The M18 FUEL D-Handle Jig Saw weighs 6.4 lbs with 5.0 Ah battery and 4.8 lbs. as a bare tool. Milwaukee uses a lot of plastic parts on this saw, probably to keep the weight down, in an already BID saw. The two plastic saw parts that worry me, are the bevel lever and blade release. Time will tell how these items hold up on the jobsite.

Improvements

I’m a big fan of Milwaukee tools, but this one still needs more development. It’s a definitely bulky tool even with all the plastic parts it comes in on the heavier side of what I’d like to see for a jigsaw.

The tool vibration needs to be addressed and reduced and Milwaukee should consider adding a variable speed dial to this saw.

How Much and where to Buy?

The M18 FUEL D-Handle Jig Saw sells online as a bare tool for $199.00 and kitted for $299.00. Both options come with the dust tube, shoe guard, anti-splinter guard. The kit unit comes with a 5 ah battery, charger and tool case.

Overall Conclusion

The M18 FUEL D-Handle Jig Saw is a definite improvement over its earlier version, it has a ton of power, added LED and dust collection. It’s certainly an effective tool, but it’s not quite where I’d want it, to be my “go-to” saw.

50 Comments

  1. Cash Money on August 13, 2022 at 12:05 am

    I was thinking of buying it but since it does have variable speed dial. I dont want it. Might go for the barrel handle version



  2. Lou Cifer on August 13, 2022 at 12:06 am

    This saw is a reason that TTI cares more for Ridgid even Home Depot promotes Ridgid over Milwaukee, the Ridgid octane has multiple speed switch



  3. Christian Douglass on August 13, 2022 at 12:07 am

    The RIDGID jigsaw that just came out seems to address the variable speed control you’re looking for!



  4. Greg Shaw on August 13, 2022 at 12:07 am

    is Milwaukee making a attachment for there Milwaukee dust collations of their tools, having a Milwaukee vacuum an not using it for the tools is just another fault, an small attachment would be the thing that solve that issue



  5. Doresoom Tool Reviews on August 13, 2022 at 12:09 am

    Great review Rob!



  6. AlainHubert on August 13, 2022 at 12:10 am

    In other words, even though I’m a Milwaukee M18 tools owner, the Dewalt seems a better design, and more robust. I wish there would be an adapter that could let me use M18 batteries with other brands…



  7. LethalPureRed PaintBeast on August 13, 2022 at 12:10 am

    Never replace a blade when the battery is attached to the tool



  8. GuardianOfTheDamned on August 13, 2022 at 12:11 am

    You talk a out it being heavy but it weight less then the dewalt



  9. kanga crew on August 13, 2022 at 12:12 am

    Its funny you get a few tools with a brand and you see other brands and you know they have a better drill or mitre etc but its like your locked in and bias grows and you lie to yourself. My solution is at times to buy corded which sux.



  10. chicagowsox212 on August 13, 2022 at 12:12 am

    I like this guys reviews. No BS. Straight to the point. Gives real points that people care about. Opinions r quick and to the point. Good job



  11. Wreaking Havoc on August 13, 2022 at 12:13 am

    Keep up the great work



  12. Sam P on August 13, 2022 at 12:15 am

    Powered by battery, yet has the word FUEL on its body. What am I missing?



  13. Mohammed Radwan on August 13, 2022 at 12:16 am

    Thanks for video, can we do comparisons between cordless jigsaw including new Hilti one SJD 6-A22.



  14. Augusto Vera on August 13, 2022 at 12:16 am

    looks like my dream machine



  15. Tim Smith on August 13, 2022 at 12:17 am

    You do a fantastic job. I’m looking to replace my Bosh jigsaw with the awful twist top for blade removal. It finally let go. I bought the Milwaukee skillsaw last week and love it.



  16. J J on August 13, 2022 at 12:19 am

    Buy the barrel grip if you like having a dial on a jig saw



  17. CODE WORDS “FLIP IT” on August 13, 2022 at 12:20 am

    I just bought this saw. I am so happy!!!!! 😁



  18. Josh The Tooldude on August 13, 2022 at 12:20 am

    Great review! You always are right to the point and have good opinions relevant to the trades based on your many years experience. I agree the lack of a variable speed dial is a bit of a surprise to me but then again Milwaukee doesn’t seem to focus on woodworking as much as general construction, metal working, electrical and plumbing. I’d love to see your thoughts on the Ridgid Octane jigsaw as it has very similar specs but has some extra features such as a variable speed dial and lock on button. Keep up the great work!



  19. promo130 on August 13, 2022 at 12:21 am

    hey rob, wich one ddo you prefer, this one or the dewalt?
    and is the milwaukee alot more powerfull then the dewalt?



  20. Andrew Hammond on August 13, 2022 at 12:21 am

    $199??! I can’t find it for less than $269. 2020 sucks…



  21. MOSTAFA ABDALRAHMAN on August 13, 2022 at 12:21 am

    Very helpful and informative video. Thank you very much.



  22. info gitaarles on August 13, 2022 at 12:25 am

    Hi Rob, Thanks for the review. As a carpenter I appreciate your youtube channel very much! Ever thought about reviewing some Mafell stuff to see how it holds again Dewalt/Milwakee?



  23. Inars Freibergs on August 13, 2022 at 12:26 am

    Bought this for 210£ nice piece of kit no bounce on panels. Like makinta dewalt and hilti. More strokes less bounce.



  24. Wild Goose on August 13, 2022 at 12:28 am

    I’m surprised there is no speed control dial. There is certainly plenty of room on the body of the saw. They are probably trying to keep the cost down. Perhaps the barrel grip will be a bit higher quality.



  25. Rezorcful on August 13, 2022 at 12:28 am

    Did the blower keep dust off the line?



  26. Winslow Peek on August 13, 2022 at 12:28 am

    The hole where you insert the blade is facing 90* in the wrong direction on mine (brand new, just pulled it out of box). I can’t figure out how to adjust it so that the blade faces straight.



  27. Tim Engle on August 13, 2022 at 12:33 am

    Can’t wait to see your next impact driver shootout with all the new power out there!



  28. tiger507 on August 13, 2022 at 12:33 am

    Excellent review! The blade deflection looks like its more obvious on this m18 than the Dewalt. I can’t believe they didn’t include a variable speed selector or dial. They need to address that and the vibration pretty soon with an update. I’m on the M18 line, and I’ll keep using my corded Bosch jigsaw. Any info when Milwaukee will launch an M18 Fuel Oscillating/multi- tool with star blade lock and tool less blade change with variable speed? LOL I’m considering getting the Bosch model, don’t really like the M18 brushed version. #Milwaukeetool



  29. Джонатан де сантиаго on August 13, 2022 at 12:36 am

    Anyone’s jigsaw blade goes crooked after a few strokes and can’t straighten it for crap? And also keeps falling off?



  30. 212 power on August 13, 2022 at 12:36 am

    Will this monitor who stole our valet garbage can from our apartment



  31. chicagowsox212 on August 13, 2022 at 12:37 am

    Home Depot has this right now with 2 batteries 4ah, charger, and bag for $199. Unbelievable price



  32. RZA77 on August 13, 2022 at 12:37 am

    Great Review!

    Wood work question ,

    If i wanted to round off ( bull nose ? ) the sharp edges of that piece of wood ; which tool would you use?



  33. Leon Zelvys on August 13, 2022 at 12:40 am

    Have you reviewed the Milwaukee barrel handled jigsaw as yet?



  34. Kamel Gatamook on August 13, 2022 at 12:42 am

    Good value and here quickly



  35. Damon Billing on August 13, 2022 at 12:42 am

    I like how you sneaked in two Satanic hand gestures…twice…



  36. Segio Dia on August 13, 2022 at 12:42 am

    Milwaukee the best tools



  37. Miquel Anesto on August 13, 2022 at 12:43 am

    Got the older model brand new never used it wish I can return it and get this one
    Great review one of the best all you would want to know as a potential buyer.



  38. Matt Baldwin on August 13, 2022 at 12:44 am

    did you look at the new m18 7-1/4 circ sawr? sorry I couldn’t help spelling it that way



  39. Michael Gonzales on August 13, 2022 at 12:44 am

    great saw, bought a pair of M18 batteries and got the saw for free on a promo.



  40. RJ&JR RAILS g scale Solenske on August 13, 2022 at 12:48 am

    Just got mine and i love it so far !!
    Great review as always



  41. patriotpaul on August 13, 2022 at 12:48 am

    I love it when he fights the entire video trying not to say "sawr" ! Excellent job as always ! I remember the mid 80’s there was not a jigsaw on the planet that could hold a candle to a Bosch1587VS. Cordless was a joke at first, even Bosch’s wasn’t great. Then Bosch’s patent on the "T"shank blade ran out after 15 years, and they all have upped their saws, and got into the game. Look how far they have come! ALL the top brands make a really nice jigsaw today. That Milwaukee is a heavy duck tho, but a very nice saw.



  42. Eric Bostrom on August 13, 2022 at 12:50 am

    Your conclusion was inconclusive! What is your go-to jigsaw? I really need a jigsaw, my old nicad dewalt drill and corded circ need to be upgraded. I’m trying to decide between Milwaukee m18, Makita LXT and Dewalt XR series. The jig saw, drill and impact will be the first tools I invest in.



  43. Blitz67 on August 13, 2022 at 12:53 am

    Great video and great review on this tool. Really want to get this but may wait now to see if they come out with a new model with the upgrades you mentioned. Thanks for the great info.



  44. goodall1bay on August 13, 2022 at 12:53 am

    Please please do a review on the barrel grip version of this jigsaw



  45. Zak Baker on August 13, 2022 at 12:54 am

    Just got this the blade when inserted is at an angle . How do I fix that



  46. Perry Threlkeld on August 13, 2022 at 12:55 am

    Not sure if you guys had noticed, I just figured it out Myself, In regards to the angle Adjustability The plate actually slides back-and-forth to lock which degree you want into place much more sturdy. You didn’t mention anything about that in the video so I was just curious



  47. J S on August 13, 2022 at 12:57 am

    That dude is fkn jacked! Keep pumping iron bro



  48. Lilbig daddy on August 13, 2022 at 12:59 am

    Got one today and the power is unbelievable stomps any corded tool ever



  49. Tool Review Zone on August 13, 2022 at 1:01 am

    Great overview. Agree with just about everything you said.



  50. Habitat Build Co on August 13, 2022 at 1:04 am

    Great review, thanks from Wollongong 😁👍