Product Review, IBC Blade and Chipbreaker for Stanley Bench Planes

Product Review, IBC Blade and Chipbreaker for Stanley Bench Planes

We have had these for sale since 2009 and folks love them. The blade is .140″ thick, the chip breaker is .125″ so together there is more than a 1/4″ of steel! They work great and convert an old Stanley into a premium plane. https://robcosman.com/collections/planes/products/ibc-rob-cosman-revival-plane-blade-set-2-inches

If you like our content don’t forget to Subscribe and hit the Bell to be notified whenever we release new stuff!
https://robcosman.com

Follow us on Instagram for smaller woodwoodworking adventures! https://www.instagram.com/robcosman_handtoolwoodworking/

17 Comments

  1. David Hutchins on November 25, 2022 at 5:23 am

    Would this work the same way on Miller’s falls planes?



  2. Andy Crowley on November 25, 2022 at 5:32 am

    Yeah for 100 bucks the bunch of greedy feckers. Rob "Cashman" the greedy little guy. 🤣😂🤣😜



  3. Robert Brunston on November 25, 2022 at 5:32 am

    Awesome Rob! Thanks for sharing.



  4. Walters guitars on November 25, 2022 at 5:37 am

    Never had a problem with Stanley blades. I will try it though. 😀



  5. Tim Royal on November 25, 2022 at 5:40 am

    I have been looking at these… Will the mouth need to be filed open? I think you meant a 606? I believe a number 6 only referred to the Bailey planes.



  6. stevem268 on November 25, 2022 at 5:40 am

    i wonder if this set will fit my old national #7C. the plane is in great condition and works well except for some iron chatter



  7. Jerry Bowers on November 25, 2022 at 5:48 am

    The information this man is giving ia priceless to say the least. His love and respect for not only the woodworking craft but people, surpasses any I know. Simply watch and listen carefully. He will take you where you need to be. Take it from this old salty woodworker, if you will just do nothing but only imitate his procedures, listen to his suggestions you will be on the right track to being a top notch woodworker and human being.



  8. Keith Walton on November 25, 2022 at 5:50 am

    Ha, if y’all don’t like your Stanley blades can I have them?



  9. Ron Hau on November 25, 2022 at 5:52 am

    Thank you. Every time I have a question you have a video! I bought a beautiful number 7 (type 9 I think patient 1902) from a collector yesterday but the blade like you said is thin. I go to your pg and I again I find a solution. Ty!



  10. Lewis Way on November 25, 2022 at 5:53 am

    Just ordered the set for my #6, thanks Rob.



  11. Solid Snake on November 25, 2022 at 5:55 am

    This sold me on the IBC plane iron



  12. Nial Ball on November 25, 2022 at 5:55 am

    Can we get these in the UK?



  13. Dave7208 on November 25, 2022 at 5:59 am

    The biggest problem is you have to back out the lever plate screw to accommodate the thicker blade an chip breaker. You have to back the as screw out too far to die this and need a longer screw. Haven’t found a source for a
    Longer screw. The IBC blades are nice if you can get them to work.



  14. Dale McBride on November 25, 2022 at 6:04 am

    For the Stanley No. 8 IBC got the chip Breaker to short by 1/4 inches. Distance from chip breaker edge to the rectangular slot should be 4 inches not 3.75 inches.



  15. UreaSmith on November 25, 2022 at 6:04 am

    I’ve had no problem with the thickness of the old blades. The chip breakers on the other hand……



  16. Jeremy McClanahan on November 25, 2022 at 6:07 am

    Mr. Cosman…have you seen the review on IBC plane irons from Wood by Wright How 2? Very interesting results.



  17. Simflight Aus on November 25, 2022 at 6:07 am

    Yep I did this for my 4 and a half Stanley and never looked back……I had the this original blade and breaker and it was a PITA to use……now with the upgrade it is my go to plane for many planing tasks……highly recommend it!!