Quangsheng Low Angle Rebating Block Plane (TYPE 3) Review, Demonstration and Uses.

Quangsheng Low Angle Rebating Block Plane (TYPE 3) Review, Demonstration and Uses.

What’s Happening Everyone, in this video I demonstrate and review my new rebate block plane by Quangsheng, bought from Workshop Heaven.

If you would like to support what I do:
PayPal https://paypal.me/ManInShed
My Patreon https://www.patreon.com/Maninshed
Contact me @ John.maninshed@gmail.com

My New Whiskey Channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMXFDDvnEIsalgV0xIowxUg?view_as=subscriber

MY Instagram https://www.instagram.com/man.in.shed/

The Whiskey Shed Instagram https://www.instagram.com/the.whiskey.shed/?hl=en

Man In Shed Tshirt Store https://teespring.com/stores/john-mcgrath-man-in-shed

Tools, Books and lights are here!! https://www.amazon.co.uk/shop/johnmcgrath

Woodworking Books I Recommend
UK Link!
Collins Complete Woodworking Manual https://amzn.to/2uwQcq1
Workbenches https://amzn.to/38AnQKj
Complete Guide To Joint Making https://amzn.to/2NUBv7e
USA Link!
Collins Complete Woodworking Manual https://amzn.to/2Gp9IYc
Workbenches https://amzn.to/30PBeHO
Complete Guide to Joint Making https://amzn.to/36pAYjS

Tools I use and Recommend
UK Links
Veritas dovetail markers https://amzn.to/2Fqm6Hd
Veritas marking gauge https://amzn.to/2N4brpM
Veritas honing guide https://amzn.to/3015gbl
Gyokucho saws https://amzn.to/35DxFpe
Bosch Gcm 12sde https://amzn.to/2QAe7xI

USA Links
Veritas marking gauge https://amzn.to/3a2Ed3Q
Gyokucho Ryoba saw https://amzn.to/2QMbmJC
Bosch Gcm 12sd https://amzn.to/2R4IT0A
Milwaukee Drill and impact driver https://amzn.to/2NjoiES

32 Comments

  1. Jim Bo on February 17, 2022 at 10:41 pm

    I have one of these. Exellent product and value. No point in paying extra for top of the range.



  2. Project Rebuild on February 17, 2022 at 10:44 pm

    "We’re not making stuff to go to space" love it



  3. stephen kearney on February 17, 2022 at 10:46 pm

    That’s the shot lad filling up the cabinet, leave a spot for some Japanese chisels lad pleasure to use on the acoustic guitars.



  4. Jim McDaniel on February 17, 2022 at 10:51 pm

    so these are straight Chinese no standards?



  5. Nathan Mitchell on February 17, 2022 at 10:51 pm

    in Canada WoodRiver planes are almost the same price as Veritas, but Veritas is local so maybe that’s why.



  6. Jerry Stark on February 17, 2022 at 10:52 pm

    I have the Lie-Nielsen version of this plane and it works like a charm, especially for fitting tenons. But, as you emphasized, you really do NOT want to drop this plane on a concrete floor. Just saying…

    Your plane looks great. If it works like the Lie-Nielsen version, then you will be very pleased with it. I really like Wood River planes (U.S.A.) and I have several. Good gear!



  7. Alex Hales on February 17, 2022 at 10:52 pm

    Love the videos where you review new tools, keep up the good work



  8. Raymond Bohn on February 17, 2022 at 10:57 pm

    Advertised as a low angle plane. But 20 degree plus 25 blade bevel equals 45 degrees?



  9. Juan Medina Zaraut on February 17, 2022 at 10:58 pm

    My like for the first comentary!!!



  10. Garry Holmberg on February 17, 2022 at 11:02 pm

    Nice plane John, and excellent demonstration of what you can do with such a plane.



  11. Alan S on February 17, 2022 at 11:03 pm

    That was a nice review of a handy little tool.



  12. scott callan on February 17, 2022 at 11:06 pm

    Do you know where you can buy this plane in the US? Does Workshop Heaven ship to the states?



  13. Owendukes on February 17, 2022 at 11:08 pm

    Love the videos and the new cabinet



  14. Michael plays on February 17, 2022 at 11:10 pm

    Great review John, thanks



  15. peter tiffney on February 17, 2022 at 11:11 pm

    John brilliant review i have lots of the workshop heaven quensheng planes i have had a friend come to my workshop with his lie neilsen planes and he was stunned by the quality of my planes and the price .we need to get behind our company,s and support them as much as we can.



  16. Brendan Lenane on February 17, 2022 at 11:14 pm

    It’ll fit in nicely to your new cabinet. Your old planer cabinet is looking a little sorry for itself now. You’ll have to up cycle that one now.



  17. Mike Wright on February 17, 2022 at 11:14 pm

    The Workshop Heaven planes are built to a higher standard than some other versions. πŸ‘



  18. Charles Krueger on February 17, 2022 at 11:14 pm

    $95 including shipping from AliExpress to the states. Google "rebate block plane"



  19. Tony W on February 17, 2022 at 11:16 pm

    Great video, the demo on the uses of this plane was excellent πŸ‘



  20. MC's Creations on February 17, 2022 at 11:18 pm

    Pretty interesting little plane, John! πŸ˜ƒ
    Great review!!!
    Stay safe there with your family! πŸ––πŸ˜Š



  21. Derek Banner on February 17, 2022 at 11:19 pm

    Great review. I bought one of these a couple of years ago (Β£75) and have been very pleased with it. I was looking at the expensive makes but they were always out of stock in UK. Only use it for finishing work though as my most expensive hand tool after a pre owned Record No71 hand router. Keep up the good work. Cheers



  22. Knight Rider on February 17, 2022 at 11:20 pm

    I’m sure it’s nice for the price, but I will stick with my made in USA Lie Nielson, cheers mate!



  23. dkg30 on February 17, 2022 at 11:23 pm

    Great review. I got mine from Rutlands under the Qiangsheng Luban brand label. Slightly cheaper than the Workshop Heaven versions. They do an offer for a standard block plane and the low angle rebate so was a good deal. Quality is like you describe but comes in a card box as opposed to the wooden one you got.



  24. Annaisineire on February 17, 2022 at 11:24 pm

    Great to see how your workshop has developed since you started there John. It’s really coming together as a unique space, so well done on all your hard work for the videos πŸ™‚



  25. Sandy Masquith on February 17, 2022 at 11:25 pm

    Thanks John. Appreciate the review very much. I have the Wood River block plane and it’s quite nice. I’d like to get a skew rabbit plane next I think. But, that little rabbit block plane is a nice option. πŸ™‚



  26. IvanWizard (Karl) on February 17, 2022 at 11:26 pm

    Ha, I’ve had this in my workshop heaven basket for ages and everytime I had the money they’ve been outta stock



  27. Janitor666 on February 17, 2022 at 11:29 pm

    I think Juuma is another name they go by.



  28. Mark Koons on February 17, 2022 at 11:29 pm

    Curses! Now I’ve got the "gimmies" for a Chinese rebate plane even though I already have both a large and small shoulder planes plus two low angle block planes. Excellent review.



  29. scott callan on February 17, 2022 at 11:30 pm

    sorry, I didn’t realize you answered that question late in the video. Cheers great videos



  30. Whitty's Workshop on February 17, 2022 at 11:32 pm

    Enjoyed that Mo Chara πŸ™‚ Been lookin at some QS planes, i have most of my bench planes sorted but need a couple of block planes and a shoulder plane, will probably go to Matthew for them. Ive heard good things about the QS planes and anything ive bought from WorkshopHeaven has been top notch, but that rebate block plane always seems to be out of stock πŸ˜› I think the cap on these are bronze tho lad, not brass……..also, if you loosen up the center screw that the cap levers on, it will give more clearance between the cap and the wheel to get your fingers in. If ya run out of thread on the screw or the wheel ya could grind a bit off the bottom of the cap around the wheel to create the space ya want to make it comfy πŸ™‚ What Rob does with the skew block plane is known as the "140 trick"…….and if youre into hand tool work, have a look at Tom Fidgen (unplugged woodshop)… his work is amazing lad πŸ™‚



  31. JAC Built Woodworks on February 17, 2022 at 11:33 pm

    I got mine in the mail today, I’m a little disappointed that there is no Luban branding on it which I had seen on other ones on the internet. The seller had it advertised as Luban so it would have been nice to have on it.



  32. Sean Duane on February 17, 2022 at 11:35 pm

    Hi John, great video as always. As a beginner can you do a video on different planes and how/why they are used. Maybe just me, but i would find that interesting and could learn from it.