Quangsheng No.62 Low Angle Jack Plane Review

Quangsheng No.62 Low Angle Jack Plane Review

Quangsheng No.62 Low Angle Jack Plane Review
My ‘out of the box’ review of Quangsheng’s No.62 Low Angle Jack plane.
How does it rate against the competition? Well, if Lie-Nielsen, Veritas, and Stanley, would like to send me their’s, I will do a side by side comparison.
Does it work well straight out of the box?

To date, I have only reviewed products that I have purchased myself, or that I’ve been gifted by family and friends. This review is no different. I tell it just as I see it, and it’s up to you to decide whether to take that into account should you consider buying one.

As always with tools – try before you buy, and only buy from sellers willing to give a full refund should you be dissatisfied.

Check out the website for further information: http://www.WOmadeOD.co.uk

33 Comments

  1. Glen M on November 5, 2022 at 4:28 am

    Would like to see your opinion after honing and minor work on flattening some of the mating surfaces, looks like it could be a great plane with the normal amount of care.



  2. Kinderhook Woodcraft on November 5, 2022 at 4:31 am

    It’s a beautiful plane, and the adjustable toe is cool, but the location of the adjustment knob would be no small consideration for me.  That design aspect is just a bit of a disappointment.



  3. vincent7520 on November 5, 2022 at 4:31 am

    9:41 If you got tear out on your board with a low angle plane it only means the plane is poor…



  4. 738polarbear on November 5, 2022 at 4:34 am

    This plane is nearly $20 MORE than a better Veritas 62 1/2 Low angle jack . Why bother ?



  5. Gerico on November 5, 2022 at 4:35 am

    I’m confused. How can you call this a review when you’ve not even honed the blade? It’s hardly a demonstration of the planes abilities.



  6. malcolm oxley on November 5, 2022 at 4:36 am

    when i buy an expensive tool (rare) there is an expectancy of having to do very little to the tool to get it ready,do you think we as woodworkers are getting too choosy?our forefathers had to pay for very costly tools then, as regards to their wages that is,do you think they had debates like this? i do cheers malc



  7. UreaSmith on November 5, 2022 at 4:40 am

    That’s sold here in America as Woodriver planes.  Sells for 200 dollars.  Lie Nielsen for 245.  I’d go the extra 45 bucks and buy the Nielsen.



  8. Whitty's Workshop on November 5, 2022 at 4:47 am

    The trick to adjusting on the fly with these is to forget the front knob while you set the depth. Cradle your front hand over the wings atop the lever cap, and use thumb and forefinger to adjust for depth. Reaching with your back hand to one side of the knob may induce some unwanted lateral adjustment ….. if it’s even possible to reach the knob.
    Have a gander at the way Vic Tesolin sets the blade on a bevel down if I’m not describing it properly 😁



  9. Mitch Peacock • Designer Woodworker on November 5, 2022 at 4:50 am

    Mark Leask raises a good question. Do any of you have experience of this?



  10. Sharp Edge Woodworking on November 5, 2022 at 4:53 am

    Hey Mitch. Thanks for the video. I already have a Stanley Sweetheart LA jack of the same design as this. But im glad to hear that the larger Quangsheng planes also appear sound after a little setup work.
    I had the same cap iron issue with the LA block plane i bought recently…..but after addressing it, it is absolutely fantastic.
    You may be interested in my reviews of the Quengsheng LA block plane and shoulder plane if you haven’t already come across them.
    http://tinyurl.com/qiangsheng-labp



  11. stephenpduncan on November 5, 2022 at 4:57 am

    I just bought my first Quangsheng tool this weekend , a low angle block plane.  One minute on my diamond plates and strop and just like this plane it performs fantastically.  for one minutes honing half the price well worth it.  i’ll be buying more of their tools.  a nice review thanks.



  12. Todd Larsen on November 5, 2022 at 4:58 am

    I own a WoodRiver No 62 (bought at WoodCraft in 2016) which people are saying is the same. It does not have a Norris adjuster, lateral adjustment must be done on the iron blade itself. However, I can reach the adjuster while planing and adjust on the fly. My iron was flat but not sharp out of the box. I don’t have a diamond stone and it took me more than a minute to sharpen :). I got it at the same time I purchased a Bailey no 5 from an antique dealer in town and spent several hours flattening and fixing the plane including ordering a screw for the toe. I am using them both on a project I have. Side to side, I always reach for the no 5. Despite tuning both blades and planes, it does a better job on the highly figured cherry I am using. I have a high angle blade for the no 62 too.



  13. Tim Royal on November 5, 2022 at 5:00 am

    I suspect that over time the inaccessibility of the adjustment would drive me nuts as I like to adjust my plane on the fly.Looks like a nice plane otherwise.



  14. Paul Odell on November 5, 2022 at 5:00 am

    The planes are to me pretty spot on, its user error. You have to make the needed adjustments.



  15. Petr K on November 5, 2022 at 5:02 am

    Looks like a copy of some western plane… Is it another chinese "original" product without any license.?



  16. Franco Giannotti on November 5, 2022 at 5:03 am

    is it made in Corea?



  17. Its a Peach on November 5, 2022 at 5:05 am

    Whats is the point of reviewing a plane out of the box? I don’t understand why you tube reviewers keep doing this! You just spent 15 mins trying to drag a dull blade through wood when every manufacturer tells you that the blade will need additional work and that its well know and accepted fact that all cutting tools will require a little bit of fettling when new – all this could have been done in the time you spent here. Its unfair to say the plane has caused tear out when you are taking such a heavy cut with a blade that hasn’t been sharpened. You might find that one of the big manufactures does a better job out of the box – but is that really a convenience worth spending double the money for? Most would say no – i have no doubt that that plane could make a shaving just as good as a big name version ones after a short period of work to get it right. The only real difference is the quality of the finish on the tool, not the work, and much as i might not like to admit it – thats not that bad either. True it doesn’t compare with a LN or V but its half the price! I own something from all these manufacturers and whilst i might like to have all my tools look and feel like a LN, most people simply cant afford that luxury – i find my Quangsheng’s perform equally as well as my LN and V. Fine, accurate shaving are not produced by expensive tools , they are produced by sharp tools and good technique. Look at the furniture that was made 100 years ago by wooden planes, no LN back then and most people today couldn’t match the quality. Reviewing a plane before tuning it is like reviewing a washing machine before taking all the bits out that hold the drum in place whilst shipping and telling us you expected more from it ‘out of the box’. You seem like a nice chap and all but this is another pointless review – i don’t know what i can expect from the tool at all, i just know what its going to look like once i open the packaging.



  18. Michael Gates on November 5, 2022 at 5:06 am

    Mitch
    Isn’t the low angle plane for end grain? Ergo, no need for a chip breaker since they basically just make sawdust? Can you hit some end grain with that plane for us?



  19. Ray Brown on November 5, 2022 at 5:07 am

    lol



  20. William Fretwell on November 5, 2022 at 5:08 am

    You did not test the base for flat, mention the iron steel, test for square sides or use for 5 hours straight to test the handles. Of course you hone the blade before use!Your bench seems a bit low for you and your technique is straight out of the box.Veritas cap irons are cast aluminium and the knob thread induces corrosion so it freezes up until you free it with a wrench and re-tap the thread; such a joy!



  21. 738polarbear on November 5, 2022 at 5:08 am

    The on the fly adjustment is why I prefer Stanley Bailey type planes . Even my LV LA. planes suffer from this . It’s just a fact that nobody has really ever bettered Stanley’s design.I have never seen hardly any planes that didn’t need a bit of minor fettling when new ,yes even a LN.



  22. DeskAgent on November 5, 2022 at 5:09 am

    I am not satisfied with this test procedure. He talks about the packaging, and the he takes it apart and shows the moving parts, but I’m not convinced this guy knows much about planes. He seems to think that, by virtue of this vidio, Lie-Nielsen and Veritas should send him free planes to test.



  23. Marty Backe on November 5, 2022 at 5:11 am

    One of these days I’m going to buy a Quangsheng (Woodriver in the US). I’ve been seeing generally good reviews. They recently came out with a No 1, so I’ve been thinking of that one (for detail work on small items).

    I never bother using blades as they come from the manufacturer. Just as you’re showing, they are semi-sharp, but not good enough for thin shavings. The Veritas and Lie-Nielsen are really no different (from my experience).

    I have the Lie-Nielsen version of this plane, and the adjuster is the same. I don’t think it’s a reflection on the manufacturer, but the design. Norris adjusters are known for not being adjustable with the hand on the tote. That’s why some people don’t like planes with those type of adjusters.

    Can you tell me how much work it took to make the blade back dead flat? Veritas is king in that regards, followed by Lie-Nielsen, then Hock. And are the edges on the body sharp, or are they now softening them? I remember early reviews of Quangsheng planes said all the castings were very sharp (not good).



  24. MrSbenn69 on November 5, 2022 at 5:12 am

    These are not good planes. I have struggled and fought with my 62 for the past few months. Edge retention on these is appalling, yes you can hone it so you get those nice fluffy shavings, but that will soon disappear after5 min on some hardwood. The mechanism for moving the mouth WILL seize up and require you to take the handle off fully and use a hammer to free it up, oh and there’s nothing holding the wood of the handle to the mechanism, and that’s not from over tightening the nut. Finally that Norris style adjuster… It doesn’t!
    Do yourself a favour and AVOID this cheap Chinese rip off.



  25. knoxvilleinspector on November 5, 2022 at 5:14 am

    I recently purchased this plane through Rutlands, where they had it on sale for about $150 US. I had the same experience you did, Mitch, with honing the iron. A minute or so on a diamond stone, then a few strokes on waterstones, and the back was flat and shiny right to the edge. I was pleasantly surprised with the small amount of work needed to get the iron honed.Also, the initial honing to me is of little consequence, because even if the iron is shipped to my house razor sharp, it will require honing again after a certain amount of use. Thanks, Mitch, for all your efforts.



  26. Mark Harris on November 5, 2022 at 5:14 am

    A brilliantly honest review, thank you very much. Please may I ask how it is 4 years later?



  27. big Kiv on November 5, 2022 at 5:15 am

    A lot of people bag the No 62 as being a gimmick plane….. used onlt for end grain butcher blocks. I have the Henry Eckert No 62 and find it out performs a bevel down plane in most area. The ability to close up the mouth quickly on the fly on certain timbers or to just get that finest of shavings is just awesome. The ability to quickly change out the iron to a high angle one for reversing grain or to a toothed iron for quick timber removal is priceless. Also on the shooting board, with a dog attached, is just plane better than a bevel down plane. Also especially with the Henry Eckert the lateral adjustment is just not necessary. As long as you keep the iton sharpened square the alignment is about 5 seconds in placing the iron on its bed…it just aligns naturally, unsure if this is the case with other no 62s but I also have the Henry eckert 65 block plane and same deal it has exact alignment built in so no need to fiddle with it. Never found the requirement for a bevel up now, my 5 1/4 Veritas bevel down sits there as a table weight more times and only used as damn it has to do something lol



  28. Mark Leask on November 5, 2022 at 5:17 am

    Where was this one bought? There seems to be a variance in these planes depending where you get it.



  29. esa062 on November 5, 2022 at 5:19 am

    They seem to be sold on many names, but I wonder, are they all from the samr factory, or are there many quality plane makers in China. I have a block plane sold as Castle River.



  30. Pat Bassman on November 5, 2022 at 5:19 am

    I bought a 2” Iron and Cap Iron of Quangsheng , the Iron its self had a huge belly which took me 4hours to flatten out , yes I should of sent it back to Workshop heaven but felt I couldn’t as they were very kind and prompt in replacing a previas order that had a defect and I used the replacement to order more Irons and save on the shipping .
    The Cap Iron needed a little fettling and I thought maybe a little soft metal but it works well and a great improvement with a stanley Iron, cheaper option than replacing Irons.



  31. Guys Shop on November 5, 2022 at 5:20 am

    Nice review Mitch. I have the Lie Nielsen no 62, and it also required work on the blade. It was good, but the performance was not as good as expected. I had the same results as you. Sharpen the blade a little, and it came to life.



  32. J.D. on November 5, 2022 at 5:20 am

    It looks like a nice plane. Out of principal would not purchase it.



  33. UreaSmith on November 5, 2022 at 5:20 am

    I’ll pay an extra 45 bucks for the Lie Neilsen.