Ryobi 18V ONE+ HP Brushless Jig Saw Review Model PBLJS01B

Ryobi 18V ONE+ HP Brushless Jig Saw Review Model PBLJS01B

The new Ryobi 18V ONE+ HP Brushless Jig Saw has a Stroke Length of 1″ and a variable strokes per minute from 800 to 3,400. It also includes an LED light, easy blade change, and a knob to adjust the orbital action. The Ryobi 18V ONE+ HP Brushless Jig Saw also has an easy bevel adjustment that will go 0 – 45ยฐ left and right with detents at 45ยฐ and 0ยฐ. Ryobi claims this brushless model will run significantly longer than the brushed model on 1/4″ plywood. I am unsure that is a huge claim, but with the new High-Performance batteries, it does have a solid runtime and great power with little to no bogging.

What the Ryobi 18V ONE+ HP Brushless Jig Saw lacks is dust collection. If you wanted to use this indoors and keep your mess to a minimum, this might not be your jigsaw. This tool unfortunately has inherited the famed Ryobi trigger that we all know and deal with. It would have been very nice of Ryobi to make this a smooth variable speed trigger!

This model is not much different than the other brushless model they released a bit back. It might be slightly smaller and still comes with all the same complaints we had when we took a look at that one.

Why Ryobi is willing to give us the same design as the Milwaukee and Ridgid but leave out Dust Collection on this model is beyond me. Give use the 20 cent plastic piece so we can collect dust!

The orbital action and adjustment works great and allows for some quick cuts! There is a removable no-mar shoe for fine cuts.

The Ryobi 18V ONE+ HP Brushless Jig Saw is only a 2 pin tool. It does not use the extra pins on the HP batteries. I do not know why I am stuck on that, but I expect my HP tools to take advantage of every bit of communication and ounce of power they can.

Please ask any questions below!

#Ryobi #Woodworking #Jigsaw

34 Comments

  1. James Comey on March 29, 2022 at 6:26 pm

    Crosscut not tio.



  2. Mark Cunningham on March 29, 2022 at 6:29 pm

    My old 3 year old cord style Ryobi was 48 bux. Its the same green color. What the main draw for me was the 2 finger, variable speed. Get into a cut slow, then just pull to go faster. 3 speed orbi-control. Top speed 3000 rpm. Gets alot of use. I like the variable speed finger control. Maybe I’m old school. Like your demo. ๐Ÿ‘
    Just cant see goin 200 bux to upgrade.



  3. Maximus Magni on March 29, 2022 at 6:30 pm

    What advantages does this HP Jigsaw have over the regular brushless model?



  4. Icyrene on March 29, 2022 at 6:31 pm

    Could you use the rigid dust collection on this one? Itโ€™s a good tool.



  5. MR Rodz OO on March 29, 2022 at 6:35 pm

    ๐˜พ๐™–๐™ฃ ๐™ž๐™ฉ ๐™—๐™š ๐™ช๐™จ๐™š๐™™ ๐™ฌ๐™ž๐™ฉ๐™ ๐™ฉ๐™๐™š ๐™ค๐™ก๐™™๐™š๐™ง ๐™๐™ฎ๐™ค๐™—๐™ž ๐™—๐™–๐™ฉ๐™ฉ๐™š๐™ง๐™ž๐™š๐™จ??



  6. Pro1er on March 29, 2022 at 6:35 pm

    So basically it’s the same as the previous brushless jigsaw, only with an HP label.
    I totally agree about the dust extraction, I guess the extra 10ยข for a piece of plastic was too much to ask for.
    PS, you think that saw is heavy? You should try lifting my old 18V Dewalt!



  7. Zespรณล‚ Pieล›ni i Taล„ca on March 29, 2022 at 6:39 pm

    Woooow! Thank you!!!



  8. XJD on March 29, 2022 at 6:42 pm

    Nice!
    ๐Ÿ˜โ˜๐Ÿป



  9. Antonio Bonomo on March 29, 2022 at 6:42 pm

    I appreciate you doing these videos. I’ve bought a few tools, in large part, because of your reviews, so that’s a good thing! I bought the auger, the miter saw, the chainsaw, and I’ll be getting this jigsaw. A little off topic, but, (and I’m not trying to sell you anything, because I’m going to mention free software) there’s a (free) program called Resolve, used for editing video. Your videos are good, but I can imagine how much nicer they’d look if you just added some contrast and a bit of a color profile (or color treatment, whatever you want to call it). That’s something you can do in a program like that – and you can create a color profile for each of the cameras you use, and once you’ve created that color treatment, whenever you use that camera, you just apply the treatment, similar to adding a filter in Instagram, for example. Its a one time setup, then use it every time, and you’d only need minor tweaks after, if any at all. It would improve your production quality, and the software is free. Just a suggestion. ๐Ÿ™‚



  10. Adam on March 29, 2022 at 6:44 pm

    Actually you are doing a true review ๐Ÿ™‚



  11. Michael A. Rodriguez on March 29, 2022 at 6:46 pm

    Awesome ๐Ÿ˜Ž



  12. BINGLE PADILLA on March 29, 2022 at 6:49 pm

    Does is smell like it is burning?



  13. Charles Eballa on March 29, 2022 at 6:49 pm

    I like variable speed and corded jigsaw over ryobi ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚



  14. DirtySouthFlorida3 on March 29, 2022 at 6:50 pm

    I fuckin love this jigsaw it’s powerful and gets the job done and effecient with my Ryobi high porformance 2ah battery



  15. Weldon Pinder on March 29, 2022 at 6:50 pm

    I have the old brushed version and it vibrates alot. Now I had a problem with it the other day. I made some curved cuts like for a porch swing and when I was finished I noticed the cut wasn’t square. It had a slight bevel on it while it’s set at 90 degrees. Could this be the blade was kinda bending while I was cutting



  16. Samantha on March 29, 2022 at 6:51 pm

    The trigger, so they didnt fix the one thing that kept me from purchasing one. I want a variable trigger



  17. Killou on March 29, 2022 at 6:54 pm

    Actually the HP connection with battery is mostly to deliver morte TORQUE, but I think when there is a sufficient amount of gear reduction you dont need this type of battery improvement because of constant reduced torque



  18. Maximus Magni on March 29, 2022 at 6:55 pm

    When is this released? I can’t find a release date in any of the videos and all the Home Depot’s near me are out of the old model brushless.



  19. Tom Gellert on March 29, 2022 at 6:58 pm

    I bougtht this tool recently and after light use the mechanism to release the blade is frozen/broke. Blade is basically stuck in there forever now. I tried to take it apart and a bunch of parts when flying all over the place. POS do not buy.



  20. E U on March 29, 2022 at 6:58 pm

    I was looking at my depot and online for the older brushless jigsaw couldn’t find it what happened to it?



  21. Guillaume Parรฉ on March 29, 2022 at 7:00 pm

    It would be great to compare side by side the cordless Ryobi jig saws. I watched your video of the P524 and it looks better but there is another model (brushed) and like to know what you think of each, condisering their prices.
    thanks



  22. Filthy on March 29, 2022 at 7:00 pm

    This jigsaw is close in price to Milwaukee m12 jigsaw. Which do you prefer or do I just save for new m18 fuel jigsaw? weekend warrior



  23. promo130 on March 29, 2022 at 7:02 pm

    Is it better then the bosch jiqsaw? ( brushed) they cost the same in my countrie



  24. BIG LOS on March 29, 2022 at 7:03 pm

    Can you not barrel grip the lower section?



  25. Stephen Day on March 29, 2022 at 7:05 pm

    Is there a way to adjust the alignment? I bought this a while back (I can’t remember how long ago – time as kinda lost meaning with the whole Covid thing), and ever since the beginning it’s never cut straight, but always angled off to the left. I thought it was me, or the blades, so I tried a number of different blades and materials, and also tried using a saw guide. Even if I ‘force’ it to stay along the guide, it keeps wanting to pull to the left and ends up just tilting the blade. I haven’t been able to find anything about adjusting it, and since I can’t find the receipt, it’ll probably cost me just as much to have it looked at as it would to buy another.



  26. Iceleck on March 29, 2022 at 7:05 pm

    A commercial kicked in right before you said have a great day. That really wrecked my day ๐Ÿ˜Ž

    Great vid



  27. James Comey on March 29, 2022 at 7:05 pm

    Crosscut not rip.



  28. Weldon Pinder on March 29, 2022 at 7:09 pm

    Does this have less vibration than the older version



  29. Jarco101 on March 29, 2022 at 7:11 pm

    Nice.
    I was considering to buy one of these but, I’ll wait for now.



  30. Allen Reinecke on March 29, 2022 at 7:13 pm

    Does it not have the Blade Saver feature, like the old one?



  31. Sith Overlord on March 29, 2022 at 7:14 pm

    Wanders of in every direction
    Great for complex curves but forget anything remotely straight.
    Has a mind of its own and will go any direction you dont want it to even on curves.
    Sure its got grunt but heck, its blade is not held precisely and wanders off in any direction while cutting.
    Notice the reviewer did NOT try and follow and pre-traced curves or lines . Common… please !



  32. interman 77 on March 29, 2022 at 7:15 pm

    I have the brushed model and it’s great ,imo there is no need to pay twice as much for brushless.



  33. Steven Gagnon on March 29, 2022 at 7:16 pm

    Cette scie a l’air bien pas comme le grinder qui est vraiment decevent !



  34. Frank Shannon on March 29, 2022 at 7:18 pm

    I think Ryobi has called my hand. This jigsaw is good enough to force me to stay with the battery platform.