17 Comments

  1. Chase Owens on December 9, 2022 at 12:30 am

    I received the new Stanley Sweetheart low angle block plane as a gift. Love it. I haven’t had any issues with flatness or bad machining like any claim. I’m mainly using it for mostly chamfers and some small long grain flattening so my tolerances are a bit more lazy than those making guitars and whatnot. I’d like to get ahold of an old school one like yours to see how it compares.



  2. mntbighker on December 9, 2022 at 12:30 am


  3. izzey starz on December 9, 2022 at 12:31 am

    I came across this video after restoring a 220 and I have never laughed so hard at a YouTube video. Go to 4:09 and you will see what I mean. And the end was the icing on the cake. I love this guy-totally natural. I’m sold. Clicked like and all that. I’m a new fan!



  4. justcruisin109 on December 9, 2022 at 12:31 am

    Enjoying the reviews. Please keep them coming. Cheers



  5. Sumo's Projects on December 9, 2022 at 12:33 am

    Haha bloody Gyprock but Stanley Works we’re renowned for quality Chisels, Planes & Screwdrivers and I worked for them for a little while however they bought & buried Sidchrome Tools Australia so I’ve a little animosity toward em lol, $ 300 for a plane ridiculous as you can put that towards a jointer, grouse review 👍👍👍👍



  6. settebello28 on December 9, 2022 at 12:36 am

    Sharp the veritas blade with 30 or 33 degrees, so you have 42 or 45 degrees, then you will see the diference



  7. Rough Rooster Knife Sharpening on December 9, 2022 at 12:36 am

    I don’t give a damn what anyone says. You can’t beat the old Stanley planes



  8. SP Bygga on December 9, 2022 at 12:44 am

    I can’t believe how shit Stanley planes are out of the box. The fact you have to flatten the sole on a plane that’s sole purpose is to be a flat reference surface for a blade is a joke. I’ve got both. Like you I have put work into fixing my Stanley’s and they do the job – but the veritas is a work of art out of the box. If I had known how much messing around was required on a new Stanley I would have gone straight to the veritas.



  9. CaptainCoyote on December 9, 2022 at 12:47 am

    “…it took me two day, but those were two enjoyable days!” That – for $5.00 – said it all! (And as an aside, I loved having all three of my kids, but I most definitely DO NOT miss the sound of a squalling unhappy child!). I just bought a Stanley 110….I paid a bit more ($10.00), but looking forward to getting it back in “operation”. Enjoyable video, amigo!



  10. Waratah David on December 9, 2022 at 1:05 am

    In my opinion the mouth was too wide on the veritas.



  11. Phil Pinsky Productions on December 9, 2022 at 1:12 am

    I would have loved to have seen how the veritas handled end grain versus the $5 Stanley



  12. settebello28 on December 9, 2022 at 1:16 am

    In my opinion, the diference is that stanley is standard angle and veritas low angle, the cut is diferent, both blades with 25 degrees but the bed is 12 degrees on the veritas(37 degrees) and 20 degrees on stanley(45 degrees) you must to grit with diferent angle the veritas blade(30°or 33°), then both block planes will have the same angle.



  13. Hey I'm a Maker on December 9, 2022 at 1:22 am

    Nice comparison, Luckily for me I can grab the low angle block plane for around $150 at the most with the fancy blade or a new Stanley low angle for $50. Now for some of the same reasons you mentioned I might be more inclined to pay the $150 to support a local store ( Lee Valley ) and a tool made in Canada ( Veritas ) than the Stanley import.

    That said I do own 2 of those Stanley 220’s one is my Dads, the other I bought for $15 and I agree, cleaning them up and getting them working is fun. I would NEVER touch the Veritas.



  14. MJP on December 9, 2022 at 1:23 am

    The block plane is a one handed tool with the rounded section sitting in your palm and your forefinger pressing on the front.



  15. Rob Robertson on December 9, 2022 at 1:23 am

    Ha 🙂 I’ll give you a fiver for that Veritas that you don’t want 🙂 🙂 🙂



  16. Scott Turner on December 9, 2022 at 1:24 am

    Bloody Gyprockers, 😉 5 Bucks well spent. Great demo also



  17. Midnight Mozes on December 9, 2022 at 1:26 am

    the veritas low angle block plane with pmv11 is da bomb. It has an angle of 12 (plane bed) +25 (chisel) = 37 degrees.